pastermedia.blogg.se

Apple server address
Apple server address




apple server address

Apple developer support provided the same link to the documentation as vcsjones in the first answer.įor my particular situation, I have narrowed the IP addresses down to these ranges after checking DNS regularly for the last couple of weeks. The official answer is, unfortunately, that there is no official answer :) - unless you consider Apple's rather sloppy approach of simply allowing all traffic to 17.0.0.0/8. The firewall team is happy, with implementing a single path, and the external server can connect to the entire 17.0.0.0/8 range used by Apple. I used a simple iptables configuration on the Rackspace server to only allow connections on 2195/2916 from my corporate gateway, and then had my firewall team open a path to the static IP address on the external server. I got the smallest server possible, and the only thing running on it is a port-forwarder that listens on 21 and sends the connections to Apple. I could never get ahead of the constantly changing addresses used by the CDN, so I finally gave up and leased an external server from Rackspace. Update: I've tried asking the firewall team to open Apple's entire IP block (17.0.0.0/8), but they won't do that for me - I need to narrow down the addresses a little bit.Įven though this question is closed, I thought I'd add a note explaining my final solution - and it is not what anyone looking for an answer wants to hear. If anyone has a comprehensive list for both the production and test environments, I'd appreciate it. I'm worried that if I just ask the firewall team to allow the IP Addresses I've seen so far, then my server will simply stop working a day or a week from now when the DNS server decides to serve up a different range.

apple server address

My server that will use the Apple Push Notification Service will be behind a corporate firewall, and I'll need to open up ports 21 for the production and test gateways - however, my firewall team requires specific IP Addresses instead of host names. Sometimes I get one set of addresses: $ nslookup .comĬanonical name = .Īnd other times, I'll get these addresses: Address: 17.172.233.65 This list changes every time I query DNS - but all of the addresses seem to be in the same 17. range - but there's no guarantee that tomorrow or next week I'll see a different range.įor the test push server, however, I already get results in different subnets. I know that Apple uses a content delivery network to spread out these requests, and DNS lookups will return servers close to the requestor's location - the problem I have is in locating all of these servers that handle content for the United States.įor example: $ nslookup Ĭanonical name = .net. Does anyone have a complete list of all IP addresses used by the Apple Push Notification Service?






Apple server address